











## 5th January 2023

## To our families, our staff, members of our local community and other stakeholders — Change of School Status

The Governing Bodies of Fairisle Infant & Nursery School, Fairisle Junior School, Mason Moor Primary School, Newlands Primary School, Oakwood Primary School, Redbridge Primary School and Shirley Warren Primary & Nursery School are considering becoming foundation schools as part of the newly formed **Bridge Education Trust** (**Southampton**) with effect from 1<sup>st</sup> March 2023. The rationale for this proposal is as follows:

- We want to move to a more formal way of working together that has already successfully contributed to children's education across our community for a number of years, and which will continue to raise expectations and standards in our schools.
- Along with the Local Education Authority, we believe that to meet the needs of our community, we can achieve more through a formal education partnership, than by working separately.

## Our proposed trust would:

- Establish a more formal partnership and enable us to work more closely and effectively with our local schools;
- Underpin the values of each individual school, which are in line with universal Co-operative values;
- Help us to deliver all our schools' visions and values

The vision we have for our proposed Education Trust is of a strong partnership that helps us to:

- Strengthen existing partnerships and encourage reciprocal effort in order to develop a sustainable self-improving schools' system, which improves our children's educational experiences and long-lasting relationships in the community.
- Ensure that local schools remain accountable to local people.
- Attract and retain the best possible quality staff to work with our children and families, offering a broad range of effective and relevant development opportunities.

- Enhance the well-being of our children and all other stakeholders in our school communities.
- Further increase the levels of aspiration and opportunities for our communities.
- Promote the academic and social potential of all our young people in our community.
- Ensure improved longer-term employment prospects for our learners through closer working with local secondary schools and higher education institutions.
- Work together on specific curriculum areas to enhance learning opportunities that develop our children's knowledge and understanding of the world, raise their self-esteem and promote well-being so they are prepared academically and socially to succeed in the next phase of education.
- Improve transition for our learners across their journey within our schools.
- Develop partnerships with pre-schools, nurseries, secondary schools, colleges, universities, employers and apprenticeship providers.
- Improve value for money and economies of scale in a time of real terms reduction in funding.

As a Cooperative Education trust, we will adopt and support the values and principles of the co-operative movement in our work. Our Trust schools will remain part of the Local Authority system, but we will enjoy the additional benefit of being supported by a charitable trust, which will appoint some of our governors.

It is important to note that our Governing Bodies will continue to run our schools as they do now. This means we will retain full responsibility for our schools' budget, staffing and the performance of our schools.

We have no intention whatsoever of changing our school's staffing arrangements as part of these proposals.

A summary of the proposals and the dates and times of consultation meetings can be found in the Proposal Summary that will be made available on our individual schools' websites. We hope you will join in the discussion and be part of these meetings if you are able to. Responses can also be made by completing this form.

Yours sincerely

Juliette Owens, Headteacher, Fairisle Infant & Nursery School
Peter Howard, Headteacher, Fairisle Junior School
Daniel Constable-Phelps, Executive Headteacher, Mason Moor Primary School
Karen Mellor, Headteacher, Newlands Primary School
Maria Whitmarsh, Headteacher, Oakwood Primary School
Donna Clarke, Headteacher, Redbridge Primary School
Zoe Newton, Headteacher, Shirley Warren Primary and Nursery School